Fervent 

Started reading a new book called “Fervent” written by Priscilla Shirer. I came across it at a little store in the airport in Miami. I grabbed it without even opening it, as I was walking to the counter to check out the bottled water I had gone in to get. Funny how God places people and things in your path that you don’t even think you need. 

So on the plane ride from Miami to Haiti, I read the first 40 pages of this book. I cried tears of joy like a weirdo sitting in the aisle seat of the plane. You see, I was feeling pretty defeated with myself beforehand. I felt confused and distant in my prayer life and the direction God wanted for me. I was doubting my faith and who I was in God’s eyes. The enemy was weighing me down in areas I didn’t even know of yet. The words and verses in the first 40 pages of this book lit a new flame inside of me that gave me new hope in realizing how powerful prayer is in every aspect of life. 

“Through intentional, deliberate, strategic prayer, you grab hold of Jesus and of everything He’s already done on your behalf. It’s how you tap into the power of heaven and watch it reverberate in your experiences. It’s a key part of your offensive weaponry against a cunning foe who prowls around and watches for your weaknesses, your vulnerable places, for any opportunity to destroy you. In prayer you gain your strength- the power to gird yourself with armor that extinguishes every weapon your enemy wields (Fervent, p.12).”

We can come back to life and be filled with God’s spirit through knowing our power and authority in Jesus Christ. We are not defeated, but are victorious by aligning our desires and heart in prayer to God’s desires and heart. 

Everyday I want to wake up training my mind to remember this. Everyday I want to wake up to protect myself, my loved ones, and my relationship with God by putting on the armor God gives us through prayer and his perfect word. I want to do these things out of love, not of obligation. Through this, am I able to be the most encouraged, at peace, and equipped to be empowered to fight any plans the enemy tries to make in any area of my life. 

“Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.” -Ephesians 6:11

The armor is God’s word, along with prayer. Let this truth encourage you in all areas of your life. If there are areas in your life that need fixing, go to your loving Father to help you and empower you to see them not as failures, but as victories through Him. Through Him, anything is possible. 

Leave a Reply

