My Story

Sharing your story is a vital way to let loose of some of those chains that may weigh you down. Taking control and authority over the trials you endured, helps you to separate them from your identity. I encourage you to be brave and share yours. You just might help someone in the process…

My name is Lauren. I’m twenty-three years old. My story of how I’ve come to be a Jesus Christ lover and follower is a series of unfortunate events that recently I’ve grown to appreciate. Luckily, I grew up in a household that encouraged me to learn about Jesus through Catholic school & faith. This helped me develop a foundation that would grow in my heart and mind, while growing up and experiencing the ups & downs. Despite my knowledge of God and religion, I lived a life in constant anxiety & fear due to lies of unworthiness, judgments of others, and not loving myself for who I was, a child of God. Some events that allowed the enemy to plant the seed of fear at an early age included: sexual abuse at age 5-6, my parents battling life threatening medical issues throughout my childhood, and my parents separating three times before getting divorced. For me, these events put stress and anxiety of burdens that I was carrying that I didn’t need to carry at all. They caused pain and tension on relationships in my life that I didn’t know how to fix or handle. Thankfully, Jesus delivered me from all negativity I was trapped in for so long. After battles with relationships, alcohol, drug abuse, anger, and insecurities, I realized that these things didn’t have to be a struggle anymore, and the substances I used to fill holes that needed filling weren’t the answer at all. What I needed was love, patience, and gentleness. What I needed was a relationship with Jesus. I am forever grateful for Him coming to my rescue during one of the darkest hours of my life. He picked me up, placed people in my life that would show me that Jesus-type love, and gave me strength in times I wanted to give up. Because of His mercy & grace, I was able to forgive myself & others and get back on my feet to finally be at peace for the first time in a really long time. I now love myself and can see others for who they are, and can love everyone for who Christ made them to be. The weight of the world no longer rests on my shoulders, and I have realized that Jesus conquered every darkness on the cross and claimed victory for us all to overcome the lies that the enemy feeds us. You are worthy. You are beautiful. You are not a failure. You are not broken. You are made whole, special, and capable through Jesus Christ. I want to share this with others and serve them by helping them learn about Jesus’ everlasting mercy and light. He loves you so very much and I hope my little story opens your heart a little more to feel it.

Much love & prayers,
Lauren

4 thoughts on “My Story

Leave a Reply

