Love Your Enemies

“Whoever secretly slanders his neighbor, him I will destroy; the one who has a haughty look and a proud heart, him I will not endure. My eyes shall be on the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me; he who walks in a perfect way, he shall serve me. He who works deceit shall not dwell within my house; he who tells lies shall not dwell within my house. He who tells lies shall not continue in my presence. Early I will destroy all the wicked of the land, that I may cut off all the evildoers from the city of the Lord.”
Psalm 101: 5-8

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.”
Matthew 5: 43-45

Absolutely love that I found these verses to reflect upon. I know that I have had many people judge me & spread lies about me due to mistakes I’ve made or them not knowing who I am inside. So many times I let this eat me up inside, and honestly sometimes I still get down from it at times. Not because they hurt my feelings, but because I know for them to waste time & energy on talking about my life, mistakes, and spreading hate, must mean that they are hurting in some way or another and I feel bad for them. You see, we all will encounter times when people will judge you, talk about you behind your back, reject you, hurt you, tell lies to you or about you, use you, take you for granted, persecute your faith, or hate you. Lucky for us for knowing truth. Jesus died to take away the burdens, hurt, & pain that these things cause in our lives. We can place all the hurt at His feet, celebrating the victory that He conquered for us at the cross. So bless your enemies! “FORGIVE them for they know not what they do.” Love them anyway. “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good (Romans 12: 17-21).” We are so blessed to have a Savior that takes are pain and turns them into something beautiful. Don’t let enemies take your joy! Rejoice in Jesus dying for you & them, and keep those that are lost in your deepest prayers.

Leave a Reply

