The Waiting Game

As he dried my tears with his gentle hand,
He smiled down at me.
He brushed his hand back around my face and leaned in to give me a most gentle kiss right dab on my forehead.
“Patience, my love”
I sighed.
Though waiting has always been hard, my shoulders relaxed a little.
I looked back up at him and rested my body in his embrace.
In that moment I felt secure and safe, I didn’t want it to end.
I wanted it to go on forever, but we both knew it would pass.
It always comes back though, and we play this scene again and again, each time growing a little closer.
So with unwilling patience, I wait.
And I’ll continue to wait, until waiting is not so bad.

Leave a Reply

