Empty Bed

White sheets pulled to my neck,
Trying to find the warmth in this empty bed.

So big, it swallows me whole.
Reminding me of how I’m so alone.

My pillow cannot calm my thoughts  I much prefer your chest.
Hearing your sounds and feeling every breath.

To count your heart beats was my favorite game.
Feeling the skin of a man who loved me the same.

And the nights when you wanted me to hold you,
I miss my lips on your back and keeping you close the whole night through.

So I close my eyes and imagine you right here in my loving care.
Asleep I drift, waking up reaching for you, but all I feel is air.

Leave a Reply

