She Still Sings

Blue eyes,
A lot on her mind.
She takes a step,
Then draws in a breath.
Says I’ll be fine this time.

Twenty three, but old at heart.
She looks around and makes a start.
At what seems like a long road ahead.
She says, I won’t let him back in.
Then his name is brought up in another conversation.

Baby, don’t walk away,
I have more to say.
walk into these open arms
Let’s start again.
I promise I’m ready this time.
So stay, so stay.

She never liked the taste of whiskey,
But whiskey sure liked the taste her.
Don’t know if she liked the burn,
Or the feeling.
The way it made her feel together,
But the truth is it always made her come undone.
So she sings…

Baby, don’t walk away.
I have more to say.
Walk into these open arms.
Let’s start again.
I promise I’m ready this time.
So stay, so stay.

She tries so hard to make herself believe it would have never worked out.
But what she really feels is that maybe somehow…

He really didn’t wanna walk away,
He wished he would have stayed,
And listened to her words.
Walked into her open arms
To pick up where they left off.

He’ll say babe come over here
and rest your head
Right here on my chest.
I’m sorry for the way
Things all played out,
But I’m right here now….

And she still sings…

Leave a Reply

