Old Flame, Old Friend

Sixteen to twenty-two.
Young and restless.
We soared, we flew.
Higher than most.

We laughed, we cried, we hid, and we tried.

We prayed, we fought, we gave it a shot.

Again and again.
But love didn’t win.

You knew my heart.
More than I knew myself.

But the way that it ended.
Was far much to hard.
The silence, the goodbye,
You didn’t see me cry.

I deserved more,
Than words an a screen.
What am I too?
What does it all mean?

Are you even a friend?
Or just someone…
That was consumed with fear,
That was too stubborn to hear….

My voice for the very last time.

Leave a Reply

